JOHANNESBURG – The African National Congress’ (ANC) office of the chief whip has confirmed Derek Hanekom as the latest former minister to resign as a member of Parliament on Tuesday.

“We confirm having received his letter of resignation,” saidANC parliamentary spokesperson Nonceba Mhlauli.

The resignation of Hanekom, former tourism minister, followed that of former ministers Bathabile Dlamini, Jeff Radebe, Nomaindia Mfeketo, Susan Shabangu, Thokozile Xasa, Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba and Siyabonga Cwele.View image on Twitter

View image on Twitter

ANC Parliament@ANCParliament

The Office of the ANC Chief Whip further confirms having received the resignation letter of former Minister of Tourism comrade Derek Hanekom as an ANC Member of Parliament.781:21 PM – Jun 11, 2019 · Pretoria, South Africa94 people are talking about thisTwitter Ads info and privacy

Earlier on Tuesday, the office of the ANC chief whip confirmed the resignation of Dlamini as a member of Parliament.

All eight of the MPs failed to make it into President Cyril Ramaphosa’s executive.

The former ministers are thought to have resigned from Parliament to retain their higher pensions, instead of the lower pensions they would receive as ordinary MPs.

Some of their replacements have already been sworn in.

One of these newcomers is Emily Tlhape, who was sworn in as a member of Parliament on Monday.

Tlhape said while she did expect to be deployed, it was still a shock.

Following Hanekom’s departure, only one former Cabinet minister, Mildred Oliphant, remains an ANC member of Parliament.

The office of the ANC chief whip said it was expecting her resignation but could only confirm once it was tendered.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *